GMT Sponsors Rhode Island Offshore Challenge Trophy

Offshore Challenge Carbon Trophy

Rhode Island, USA

Distance racers unite! The Bristol Yacht Club and the Ida Lewis Yacht Club have joined forces to create The Rhode Island Offshore Challenge Trophy - crafted and donated by GMT Composites. This perpetual trophy will be presented to the boat with the best combined score in the Sid Clark Offshore and Ida Lewis Distance races.

The Sid Clark Offshore Race dates back to 1904 and may well be the oldest distance race in the country. The race will feature a variety of courses ranging in length from 75 to 160 miles. The start will be just outside Bristol Harbor. The race will take you down Narragansett Bay and into the waters around Block Island and the Elizabethan Islands, with the finish just outside Newport Harbor. There will be classes for IRC, PHRF, One Design, multihull, and double-handed boats.


The Ida Lewis Distance Race is the perfectly designed overnighter for IRC, PHRF, One Design, Multihull and Double-Handed boats of 28 feet or longer. It features four coastal round trip race courses between 104 nm and 177 nm, with course starts and finishes off the historic Ida Lewis Yacht Club and includes turning marks at Castle Hill, Brenton Reef, Block Island, Montauk Point, Martha’s Vineyard and Buzzards Tower.


GMT Composites is proud to sponsor the newly formed Rhode Island Offshore Challenge Trophy in hopes more sailors take advantage of the world class offshore racing found in our local summertime waters. These two events offer competitive racing and good times from the pre-race pancake breakfast at the Bristol Yacht Club to the awards dinner on the deck of the Ida Lewis Yacht Club.


1. To qualify, a boat must start both the Sid Clark Offshore Race and the Ida Lewis Distance Race.

2. If only one race is started, the results of that race will be used to determine the winner.

3. If neither race is started, the trophy will not be handed out.

4. To qualify, a boat must be part of a class with 4 or more registered boats for the Sid Clark and 5 or more registered boats for the ILDR.

5. The winning boat will be the qualified boat that has the lowest combined score for the two races.

6. If two or more boats have the same combined score the tie breakers are as follows:

a. First tie breaker: for each race, each boat gets one point for each starter in their class that they have bested on corrected time. The boat with the most points is the winner.

b. Second tie breaker: the boat with the best place in their class in the last race is the winner.

c. Third tie breaker: The boat that beats their closest competitor by the largest percentage margin in the last race is the winner. This is calculated by taking the difference between the corrected times of the boat in contention for this trophy and the boat ranked just below. Divide this difference by the corrected time of the boat in contention.

7. The trophy will be awarded at the awards presentation after the ILDR.

8. The recipient will get to keep the trophy for roughly one year at which time they will send it via UPS or hand deliver to GMT Composites. Once the perpetual trophy is received, the winner will be awarded a keeper trophy.